About Cumberland

Dukes baseball wins at-large bid

Tuesday, May 21, 2019
The Dukes Baseball team is headed to Tennessee for the 2019 NJCAA DIII Baseball World Series!


Update: Cumberland pulled ahead last night 11-7, winning the World Series! Congratulations to the Dukes on winning their first National Championship!

The Cumberland County College Dukes, on May 21, received the exciting news that they secured an at-large bid to compete in the 2019 National Junior College Division III Baseball World Series in Greeneville, TN.

At 43-5 for the season, the Dukes are the third seed in the eight-team national tournament. The Dukes were the No.1 overall ranked team in NJCAA Division III for the final six weeks of the season and were ranked fourth or higher for all but the opening week of the 2019 season.

The Dukes boast the most wins nationwide in Division III baseball since 2014. This will be the third time the Dukes will compete in the World Series—the first being in 2014 when they reached the National Championship game against Tyler Junior College (TX).

In 2017, the Dukes fell one game short of returning to the National Championship, losing to Niagara County Community College (NY).

The at-large selection was implemented by the NJCAA in 2017, which was the last time Cumberland reached the World Series after winning their second Region XIX Title. The NJCAA Division III World Series is a double-elimination tournament and will be played on the campus of Tusculum University. Games are set to begin on Saturday, May 25. The Dukes will play the sixth seeded Century College Wood Ducks (MN) at 10 a.m. on May 25 and should they win, they will play the winner of the game between Brookhaven College (TX) and Rockingham Community College (NC) on Sunday, May 26 at 4 p.m. All games will be live-streamed on NJCAATV.

Follow the Dukes at dukesathletics.com

2019 Dukes Baseball Roster

  • #    Name    Position
  • 1    Darrius Land, OF
  • 2    Brian Gallante, C/IF
  • 3    Francisco Laureano, OF/P
  • 4    Matt Spaeth, INF
  • 5    Brian Bromley, P
  • 6    Nick Lonetto, C
  • 8    Joseph Nestel, P
  • 9    Christian Lutz, OF
  • 10    Donnie Stone, INF
  • 11    Jose Rodriguez, P
  • 12    Ja’Ques Colon, OF
  • 14    Ryan Hillesheim, P
  • 15    Ryan McIsaac, IF
  • 16    Jason O’Neill, P/IF
  • 17    Dominick McLaughlin, C/UT
  • 18    Michael Miles, P
  • 20    Coe Nolan, P/UT
  • 21    Jarrett Quinn, P
  • 22    Nick Hillesheim, P
  • 23    Vincent Napolitano, INF
  • 24    Dylan Scaranda, INF
  • 27    Nicholas Milhan, OF
  • 29    Matthew Maselli, P
  • 30    Eric Stewart, P/INF
  • 31    Anthony Masselli, P
  • 32    Zach Jimenez, P
  • 34    Tyler Knox, OF
  • 40    Carrelle Gonzalez, OF